home button email button

Perrysburg Schools News Article

28 PJHS Students selected for OMEA Honor Band

The Perrysburg Junior High School Band not only set a record for the number of students ever selected from the PJHS Band for the Ohio Music Education Association Honor Band this year, but also for the number of students ever selected from a single school in Northwest Ohio! Twenty-eight students from the PJHS Band make up over 25% of the 110-member ensemble.

Our students prepared difficult audition music on their own time and recorded it during the school day. Recordings from all 35 middle schools in OMEA District I were separated by instrument and sent off to the OMEA adjudicators for evaluation. The process is completely blind, meaning that the adjudicator only sees “Flute 1,” “Flute 2,” etc., and cannot make choices based on history or the student's school.

All of the selected students will give a performance at the Stranahan Theater in Toledo on Sunday, February 18 at 2:30 p.m. Their director will be Dr. Courtney Snyder, Associate Director of Bands at The University of Michigan.

The students accepted from PJHS include:

Caroline Hannah, 1st chair, flute
Kristin Eli, 2nd chair, flute
Nora Cheng, 4th chair, flute
Aralyn Wise, 9th chair, flute
Farah El Nemr, 12th chair, flute
Kara Lintner, 13th chair, flute

Jacob Zilles, 1st chair, oboe

Kayleigh Brickner, 1st chair, bassoon
Ryan Ulrich, 3rd chair, bassoon

Hana El Nemr, 1st chair, clarinet
Chelsea Ward, 3rd chair, clarinet
Will Swartzbeck, 4th chair, clarinet
Owen Laib, 5th chair, clarinet
Andrew Chung, 6th chair, clarinet
Aubry Clinard, 7th chair, clarinet
Jazmine McKinney, 13th chair, clarinet
Nikhil Methi, 15th chair, clarinet

Abbey Hudak, 9th chair, alto saxophone
Andrew Mack, 12th chair, alto saxophone

Ysabella Aromas, 7th chair, trumpet
Nick Barry, 8th chair, trumpet
Johni Weidner, 11th chair, trumpet
Ryan Matthews, 12th chair, trumpet

Ryan Oesterle, 5th chair, french horn

Beau Craig, 2nd chair, trombone

Matthew Rutherford, 4th chair, tuba

Ethan Gruden, 4th chair, percussion
Caleb Neidt, 5th chair, percussion

Posted Thursday, January 25, 2018
Print This Article
View text-based website